Support Service for Newborns and Preschool Children

                                                                                                                                                                                                          

Provides families with appropriate counselling and referral services as needed and offer help and advice to new parents and parents-to-be. The “SweetieLand” Project provides services for newborns to 6-year-old kids with Down Syndrome and their families, offering various trainings including muscle training and cognitive, language and social skills development.

· Counseling Services

Provides families with newborn babies with counselling services and childcare training to help parents ease their emotional grief and strengthen their confidence. The social workers will visit hospitals, Down’s Syndrome clinics and families to understand the needs of families with newborns and provide them with needed support and information.

· Support from the Experienced

To arrange for more experienced professionals and parents to provide support by offering advice and sharing their experiences through the telephone and home visits to families with newborn babies. Parent networking activities are also available to provide a platform for mutual support.

· Care Ambassador

This group was established to complement the ‘support from the experienced’ service. Volunteering parents who are interested in becoming a ‘care ambassador’ will receive group training designed by social workers on home visiting skills to enable them to provide support effectively when needed.

· Panels of Parents with Newborn Babies

To arrange for more experienced professionals and parents to provide support by offering advice and sharing their experiences through the telephone and home visits to families with newborn babies. Parent networking activities are also available to provide a platform for mutual support.

初生及学前的唐氏综合症幼儿支援服务

为有需要的唐氏综合症家庭提供适切的辅导服务及转介。另亦对初生唐氏婴儿及获诊断怀有唐氏综合症胎儿之家长提供辅导及小组服务。甜心学堂服务初生至六岁唐氏综合症幼儿及其家人,提供多元代化的训练包括肌肉训练以及认知丶语言及社交等方面学习。

· 辅导服务

为初生唐氏婴儿的家庭提供辅导服务及育儿技巧训练,以协助家长过渡悲伤失落的情绪,并加强家长的育儿信心及果效。本会社工会分别前往医院丶唐氏诊所和个案中的家庭作探访,了解初生婴儿家庭的需要,并提供适切的协助及资讯。

· 过来人家长支援

安排曾有相同经历之唐氏综合症人士的家长,以过来人身分,透过电话和家访向初生婴儿家庭,给予支持和分享经验,亦可参与唐氏家长分区网络活动,认识区内家长,互相支援。

· 关怀大使

此小组的成立是配合「过来人家长支援」而衍生的,有兴趣成为「关怀大使」,以「过来人」身分作义工的家长,会接受社工所设计的小组训练,以掌握家访或提供支援予初生唐氏婴儿家长时的技巧,好让他们在需要作出支援时,更见成效。

· 初生唐氏婴儿家长小组

以小组形式,让一群背景和需要相同的家长,定期集会,社工会透过不同的专题,使组员能在各类专业人士的意见提供下,获得更充足的资源去照顾其子女;同时,小组亦是个让各组员抒发情绪和意见的渠道。