Support Service for Newborn and Preschool Children with Down Syndrome & SweetieLand

baby massage

Sponsored  by HSBC via The Community Chest of Hong Kong, SweetieLand Project Project is supported.

We provide families with appropriate counseling and referral services as needed and offers help and advice to new parents and parents-to-be. The “SweetieLand” Project provides services for newborns to 6-year-old kids with Down Syndrome and their families, offering various trainings including muscle training and cognitive, language and social skills development.

· Counseling Services

Provides families with newborn babies with counseling services and childcare training to help parents ease their emotional grief and strengthen their confidence. Social workers will visit hospitals, Down Syndrome clinics and families to understand the needs of families with newborns and provide them with needed support and information.

· Support from the Experienced

To arrange for more experienced professionals and parents to provide support by offering advice and sharing their experiences through the telephone and home visits to families with newborn babies. Parent networking activities are also available to provide a platform for mutual support.

· Care Ambassador

This group was established to complement the ‘support from the experienced’ service. Volunteering parents who are interested in becoming a ‘care ambassador’ will receive group training designed by social workers on home visiting skills to enable them to provide support effectively when needed.

· Panels of Parents with Newborn Babies

Parents are divided into groups based on similar backgrounds and needs, so they can meet regularly. Social workers provide guidance on a variety of topics to give members access to more professional advice and resources to care for their children. The Panel also gives members a chance to release their emotions and share their opinions on various issues.

初生唐氏嬰兒家長支援服務及「甜心學堂」

baby massage

承蒙匯豐銀行透過香港公益金撥款贊助,香港唐氏綜合症協會開展初生唐氏嬰兒家長支援服務及「甜心學堂」計劃。

我們為有需要的唐氏綜合症家庭提供適切的輔導服務及轉介。另亦對初生唐氏嬰兒及獲診斷懷有唐氏綜合症胎兒之家長提供輔導及小組服務。甜心學堂服務初生至六歲唐氏綜合症幼兒及其家人,提供多元代化的訓練包括肌肉訓練以及認知、語言及社交等方面學習。

· 輔導服務

為初生唐氏嬰兒的家庭提供輔導服務及育兒技巧訓練,以協助家長過渡悲傷失落的情緒,並加強家長的育兒信心及果效。本會社工會分別前往醫院、唐氏診所和個案中的家庭作探訪,了解初生嬰兒家庭的需要,並提供適切的協助及資訊。

· 過來人家長支援

安排曾有相同經歷之唐氏綜合症人士的家長,以過來人身份,透過電話和家訪向初生嬰兒家庭,給予支持和分享經驗,亦可參與唐氏家長分區網絡活動,認識區內家長,互相支援。

· 關懷大使

此小組的成立是配合「過來人家長支援」而衍生的,有興趣成為「關懷大使」,以「過來人」身份作義工的家長,會接受社工所設計的小組訓練,以掌握家訪或提供支援予初生唐氏嬰兒家長時的技巧,好讓他們在需要作出支援時,更見成效。

· 初生唐氏嬰兒家長小組

以小組形式,讓一群背景和需要相同的家長,定期集會,社工會透過不同的專題,使組員能在各類專業人士的意見提供下,獲得更充足的資源去照顧其子女;同時,小組亦是個讓各組員抒發情緒和意見的渠道。