Chairman’s Message

new2

The Hong Kong Down Syndrome Association was registered as a non-profit making organization in October 1987. We are committed to serving individuals with Down Syndrome, intellectual disabilities or other disabilities and their family members by providing them with integrated family support and vocational rehabilitation services. We uphold a firm belief that people with these disabilities should enjoy all basic human rights and equal opportunity in our society. Creating a supportive and inclusive environment is thus very important.

Through the years, the Association has been striving to provide quality and tailored services in order to improve the quality of life among service users and help them develop their personal growth fully in every aspect of life.  After years of effort, we have achieved substantial and positive impact in society through our services. Our self-financed DS Centre offers a variety of activities, interest classes, training and counselling services to our members with Down Syndrome at all ages.  Also, both DS Centre and Bradbury Parents Resources Centre provide holistic and diversified family support services including case management, support groups, family networks and so on. In the area of vocational rehabilitation services, the Association continues to expand our employers’ network and develop social enterprise, offer various types of vocational training to our members and help them become self–reliant.  To support their employment with genuine action, we presently employ more than 30 people with disabilities in our service units and social enterprise.

The Association pays close attention to and understands the needs of our members and service users. We review and conduct field research regularly so as to identify and assess any service gaps caused by insufficiencies in our services. Besides, the Association is concerned with the needs and difficulties of service users who are facing life’s challenges at different stages in life, like the aging problems of certain people with Down Syndrome as well as the challenges faced by caregivers. With joint effort and contribution from our Committees, the Association will plan for and launch new services or projects in response to our stakeholders’ changing needs and the societal environment. Parents are our valuable partners. The Association works closely with parents to proactively voice out our members’ needs and concerns to related government departments. We advocate and strive for rights and welfare on behalf of people with Down Syndrome, intellectual disabilities or other disabilities and their family members.

Here, on behalf of the Association, I would like to extend my sincere thanks and appreciation to every organization, charity foundation and relevant government departments for their kind support and sponsorship. Thanks you so much for the trust and support from parents, members, service users, volunteers, committee members and dedicated staff members. I would also like to express my heartfelt thanks to the unfailing care and guidance from our President, Sir David Tang, KBE, and two Vice Presidents, Dr. Andrew Yuen and Ms. Carina Lau Ka-Ling. There are still many tasks to be accomplished in the near future, including making plans for developing new premises for the head office and DS Centre. We look forward to your continuous support and participation, and to working hand in hand with you to build a caring and integrated society for people with Down Syndrome and other people in need!

LEUNG Kin Man
Chairman of Executive Committee

主席的話

new2

香港唐氏綜合症協會於一九八七年正式註冊為非牟利慈善團體,致力為唐氏綜合症人士、智障人士、其他殘疾人士及其家人提供綜合家庭支援及職業復康服務。我們相信這些人士應享有一切基本的權益和平等的機會,並得到社會的接納和支持,至為重要。

協會多年來一直堅守為會員及各服務使用者提供優質和適切服務的理念,持續不斷地改善優化服務質素,使他們在個人成長及生活各方面,得以全面發展。經過多年的努力,不少服務項目已有顕著成效。協會自負盈虧的唐家軒為不同年齡的唐氏會員提供多元化的活動、興趣班、訓練小組和輔導跟進。此外,唐家軒及白普理家長資源中心更提供多方面的家庭支援,包括個案跟進、家長小組、關懷網絡等。在職業復康方面,協會努力擴展僱主網絡,發展社企業務,並提供不同的職業訓練,協助會員自力更生。我們更積極聘用殘疾人士,協會現有30多位殘疾僱員於各單位和社企工作。

協會關心和了解會員及服務使用者的實際需要,定期進行調查研究,探討現有服務的不足。本會關注到各服務對象在成長階段上面對不同的困難和需要,以及部份唐氏人士老齡化的情況,特别是其家人在提供日常照顧所面對的挑戰,明確了現有服務需要加強的範疇。協會將透過各相關委員會,策劃推動新的服務項目,以满足不斷變化的環境和需求。此外,家長是我們重要的工作伙伴。協會與家長們一同倡議爭取唐氏綜合症人士、智障人士、其他殘疾人士及其家人的權利和福祉,積極向政府有關當局反映他們的訴求。

我謹代表協會感謝贊助本會的各個社會團體、慈善基金、政府機構;一直支持和信任我們的各位家長、會員、義工、各委員會成員、協會各位幹事和所有服務使用者。我更要衷心感謝本會會長鄧永鏘爵士、兩位副會長阮偉文博士和劉嘉玲小姐,多年來的關懷和指導。在未來的日子我們要完成的工作仍很多,包括計劃中協會總部及唐家軒的整合和搬遷等。我們期待您一如既往的支持和參與,携手合作,為唐氏綜合症及其他有需要協助人士構建關愛和共融社會!

執行委員會主席
梁建文